Delicacy at its best

RESTAURANT SUMMARY

Hopetoun Tea Rooms

Block Arcade, Melbourne VIC 3000

Phone: (03) 9650 2777

http://www.hopetountearooms.com.au/

RATINGS

Ambience: 8/10

Food: 7/10

Service: 6/10

REVIEW

Hopetoun Tea Rooms is this delicate little shop established in 1892, located in the Block Arcade on Collins Street. I had walked past this shop several times, stopping to gawk at the various types of pastries showcased! BUT didn’t get the chance nor occasion to walk in and give it a try! Oh well, since it was my birthday, I decided to pamper myself with a tiny bit of  TLC.

As an avid macarons lover, I couldn’t resist the temptation of trying some when I saw them at the counter. With the heatwave hitting us, a glass of icy cold Fiji tea made the little tea adventure perfect! The presentation at the tea room was rather sophisticated and detailed I must say.

Also, we decided to give one of their signature sandwiches a try! We had the Sirloin Beef sandwich with beetroot, personally I have never tried beetroot in my life. It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be, it actually went well with the beef and made the sandwich a delight!

However, they charged us 20 cents each for a glass of “tap” water! I thought it should be FOC in Australia! >.<

Hopetoun Tea Rooms on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

