New Kid on the Block: Bread & Butter.

RESTAURANT SUMMARY

Bread & Butter (Bakery . Patisserie)

240 Swanston Street, Melbourne Vic 3000

Phone: (03) 9639 9494

RATINGS

Ambience: 6/10

Food: 7/10

Service: 7/10

REVIEW

A new establishment on the bustling Swanston Street has finally opened for business last week (it has been under renovations for the past few months and I was thinking it might not even OPEN)! It is a pretty boutique bakery, selling a variety of adorable looking bread and buns. B&B even have interesting names for them and they were baked in the shape of cute animals, to name a few: Ted the teddy bear, Val the vanilla buns, Sonic, Arthur the turtle….

I reckon that B&B is out to compete with Breadtop, which is opening their outlets as rapidly and manifesting like Starbucks! 😦 With the mass number, the quality kinda suffered? At B&B, you pay for the quality you yearn. I bought their simple white loaf bread @ $2.20. It was piping hot and I got them sliced on the spot for me! They were thick and fluffy, just the way I like my toast to be. At the same time, they were giving out free samples for their assortment of strudels (kiwi, strawberry, peach). I was surprised that they actually have DURIAN strudels on offer! According to the manager, everything is baked fresh at the shop everyday and they use REAL fruits and quality produce. I love durians and theose durian strudels sitting in the fridge just tempted me so much that I could not help but bought one for my lunch!

It was huge and the moment you open it the sweet alluring smell of durians burst right into your nostrils. Look at the pretty packaging! It was almost on par with Laurent’s!

The very first bite was sensational! The pastry was crispy and soft, you could also taste the freshness and sweetness of durian! It was a fulfilling lunch and you just could not wait to have more even though you’re at your max when you worked your way through it. However, it is advisable to have it at home where you have proper cutlery! I was making a huge mess trying to eat it with my hands! OOPS! @.@

B&B is an awesome find! I will definitely go back and try out the rest of the pastry and bread selections! Even though it might be a bit pricey, you are paying for the quality and the beauty of food! 🙂 Oh well, it is great that there is a new kid on the block nonetheless.

Bread & Butter (Bakery . Patisserie) on Urbanspoon

4 thoughts on “New Kid on the Block: Bread & Butter.

    • Hi Ally,
      Really? I didn’t know that it is tough to find good strudels here! They look really appealing and appetizing at B&B. I could not resist the temptation when I first saw them, so rest assured that they are beautiful to the eyes and yummy to your palate. Durian is quite a rare fruit to have in Australia and it is even more rare for a bakery to be serving them. Therefore, I decided to give it a try!

      They were giving out samples of the strudels in strawberry, kiwi and peach (if I am not wrong). They are equally delicious! Give the New Kid a try and I trust you will love it.

      Thanks for your comment. 🙂

      Regards,
      Lydia

  1. I recommend the “Ted” buns to showing to girls who you want to make go “AWWWW!”, although the second one said “you have to eat that now!”

Leave a Reply

