Sugar Rush @ Ganache Chocolate.

RESTAURANT SUMMARY

Ganache Chocolate

245 Collins Street, Melbourne Vic 3000

Phone: (03) 9650 8388

http://www.ganache.com.au/

RATINGS

Ambience: 7/10 (classy and filled with chocolates everywhere)

Food: 5/10 (cake was too sweet for my liking and macarons were rather ‘horrid’)

Service: 7.5/10 (impressive memory skills)

REVIEW

My colleagues and I wanted to have some cakes at Hopetoun Tea Rooms during lunch. But when we got there, we saw a huge crowd right outside the door. If we were going to wait in the queue, I don’t think we will be able to get in within our lunch hour. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ So, we decided to head to Ganache Chocolate which is across the street.

When we rocked up ย to the entrance, we were met with the manager of the shop who was friendly and also a sea of SMILING rabbits (as Easter is round the corner, but they looked kind of freaky to me). We were shown to a corner seat which was rather crammed and uncomfortable. When the table next to us was cleared, we hurriedly moved over just to have more room and breathing space.ย 

We were overwhelmed by the large assortment of cakes, chocolates and macarons on display and the menu was filled with so many yummy dessert that I wanted to try them all! >.<

Finally, I settled for a brownie chocolate cake; one lavender and one vanilla macarons while one of my colleagues ordered a hazelnut fan slice and another ordered one hazelnut and one chocolate macarons. ย The brownie chocolate cake was so rich and sweet, the after taste in your tongue was so strong and you felt like something is stuck in your throat. However, I think it will be a heavenly cake for those chocolate addicts out there! ๐Ÿ˜€ I will still prefer to have some brownie and passionfruit cake from Le Petit Gateau, even though it is chocolate based, it has a good balance to it and not overloading. The macarons were a disaster, they were tough and dry. The fillings were not creamy and tasted artificial. I had better macarons from LBM and Westin hotel (they were huge and delicious much!). My colleague agreed with me and said hers were just too sweet. @.@ As for the hazelnut fan slice, it was great according to my colleague and the presentation was pretty.


Overall, the experience at Ganache Chocolate was not that fantastic, especially with the macarons “crashing” our dessert rendezvous. But I must commend the waitress for her ability to remember all the ELEVEN flavours of macarons that they were serving! Awesome ain’t she?! Another waitress served us cups of warm water once we were seated. Customer service done to perfection! I might return for their chocolate truffles and pralines. Nom nom nom.

Ganache Chocolate on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

