Pho Soupy Noodles.

RESTAURANT SUMMARY

Melbourne Vietnam Noodle House

251 Swanston Street, Melbourne, Vic 3000

Phone: (03) 9078 2225

RATINGS

Ambience: 6/10

Food: 6/10

Service: 5/10

REVIEW
I decided to step out of my comfort zone and try something that I have not tried before (possibly). I think the first time that I had Vietnamese food is all the way back in 2007 for a friend’s birthday but we ordered dishes and not like Viet’s traditional stuff. Everyone says the entry dish is beef noodles, which is known as Pho in Vietnam. It is a soup based noodles with various cuts and types of beef thrown in. Upon recommendations from V, I headed to Vietnam Noodle House for my lunch.

I was first presented with anย appetizer, fresh bean sprouts with slices of lemon at the side. Interesting but I don’t really ‘dare’ to eat fresh vegetables from diners outside.

I was rather hungry as I did not have breakfast as usual (I know it is a bad habit but I just can’t seem to eat anything!), so I ordered a plate of Wonton. They were made rather differently from the usual Chinese ones, they were bigger and had more vegetables in their fillings. A small plate of sweet chilli was also given at the side which enhanced the dish so much more!

Lastly, the star of the day: Pho noodle soup @ $8. The broth was fragrant and the noodles were easy to chew and flavours were quite subtle. ย But nothing too surprising for a bowl of soup noodle. >.< However, I heard from V that the broth should be clearer than this to be authentic!

Nothing extraordinary but just a good place to have quick lunch at an affordable price!

Melbourne Vietnam Noodle House on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Pho Soupy Noodles.

  1. Hey! The beansprouts are actually meant to be added to the pho and heated in the broth. The herbs, lemon and chillis are for extra flavour!

    • That’s what I did! I dumped the beansprouts into the soup! But I am not a big fan of things with overpowering or rich flavours, so I just had the soup on its own. Thanks for the tip! ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

