Dainty Luncheon at Baroque Bistro Patisserie.

RESTAURANT SUMMARY

Baroque Bistro Patisserie

88 George Street, The Rocks, Sydney NSW 2000

Phone: (02) 9241 4811

http://www.baroquebistro.com.au/

RATINGS

Ambience: 7.5/10

Food: 7/10

Service: 7.5/10

REVIEW

My first visit to Baroque was a year ago on my graduation trip around Australia with my parents. We stumbled upon it (I didn’t realise Baroque is one of the more well-known restaurants in Sydney!)after making our way through the busy Coffee festival at The Rocks and we were looking for a place to rest our feet and enjoy some lunch. I took a liking for their sausage rolls and macarons, therefore decided to return this year for more.

When P and I walked in, we were looked after by a friendly French lady whom I believe is the manager or some sort. She asked if we will like to have dessert or have lunch. Upon knowing that we were looking to fill our tummies for lunch, we were shown to the Bistro section. Several of the tables were already filled with businessmen and older crowd looking for a decent meal with quality and delicate service.

After browsing through the menu, I realised that the sausage roll was nowhere to be found and I clarified with the waitress. She mentioned that it is in their cafe menu and it will only be served on weekends. So, we have to get something from their Bistro menu.

P and I had a ‘hard’ time choosing what is nice and if we dare to try certain things on the menu. After placing our order, we were served a large red bowl of nicely cut baguette with a dip of olive oil. I know this is nothing fancy but the baguette was so much nicer than the ones we have tried so far. It was crispy on the outside; soft and fluffy on the inside! NOM!

The Fricasse Calamari, saffron cracker and crab cream was one of our selections. The calamari was diced finely and the crab cream was a match in heaven. We tried dipping the baguette with the crab cream and it tasted voila! I didn’t really like the saffron cracker that much.

We also got the seasonal selection of cheese with fruit paste. The blue cheese was rather ‘horrible’ but I do know that it is the King of all cheese! If only I know how to ‘appreciate’ that. My favourite was the creamy one that was placed on the side! It went really well with the baguette and I just kept spreading them across the pieces of bread. πŸ™‚ The manager that I mentioned earlier, gave us another bowl of baguette to go with the large amount of cheese that we had before us. The grapes had a weird taste, ain’t sure if it was because of the crazy amount of cheese that we had? The pear was great and crunchy! The cracker at the side was covered with spices which was unappetizing to me.

Baroque is famous for its macarons and dessert that are freshly made at their kitchen daily (as a French restaurant, it is kinda a matter of fact?) and I remembered the awesomeness that I had last year. Thus, I had to bring some back to Melbourne. @.@

Of course, I bought one of each of the macarons available.

From top to bottom:

1. Chocolate Truffle:Β This winter season they are introducing this new flavour for $6 a pop! It was not nice at all. Tasted abit sour and weird even though it had a really creamy centre and nice crust.

2. Pistachio & Sour Cherry: Very thick taste and a sour cherry centre. Nice balance, interesting combination and of course, an awesome crust.

3. Salt Caramel: Caramel with fleur de sel (pure sea salt from France), it was NOT as salty and gross tasting like the ones from Lindt. It was a light blend and a thick filling which was great!

4. Blackcurrant: Just found that it is sweet.

5. Dark Chocolate: Β 70% Valrhona dark chocolate, it was not too bitter, perfect taste! (Valrhona chocolates are like the richest and Queen of chocolate, a little bar could set you back a good $15 )

6. Rosewater: Strangely, it tasted slightly gingery. Hmmm.

I like the care and concern that the staff showered on each diner, making our dining experience exceptionally memorable. The quality of food is superb, that is for sure and I know why their macarons are thicker and creamier than the usual ones on the market. They were made using chocolate ganache, giving it the extra awesome texture!
Baroque | Bistro Bar Patisserie on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

