This is the Little Light of my Hotaru…

RESTAURANT SUMMARY 

Sushi Hotaru

Shop RP1, 500 George Street, Sydney NSW 2000

Phone: (02) 9262 9917

http://www.yesfoodservice.com.au/sushihotaru.html

RATINGS

Ambience: 7/10

Food: 7.5/10 (cheap and quality assured)

Service: 5/10 (even though the wait staff was courteous, they did not wear protective hats and hair net, which was rather disturbing)

REVIEW
This will be my last entry on my escapade to Sydney!

Sushi Hotaru is a new addition to the range of Japanese restaurants at The Galleries, which also houses Kinokuniya (my favourite bookstore and I will always visit it when I go to Sydney!).  Based on the information provided on their website, it only opened to diners in February this year! As I am a Japanese food fanatic, I have been on the look out for affordable sushi train in Australia for the past few years and SH fit the bill to a T. All the plates on the trains are just $3 except for those sashimi and delicacies which are slightly more expensive. But all in all, $3 a pop for quality and fresh sushi is definitely an attraction.

As P was not feeling hungry and we were catching the train to the airport to beat the rush hour traffic, I had a quick dinner and satisfied my insatiable appetite for sushi.

The very first plate that I had is something that was not on the menu and it was freshly made on the spot with the waitress heating the top with a cooking torch. It was a combination of salmon and scallop. It was so yummy but the rice on the bottom was spilling all over the place. I reckon you have to be really careful when you are enjoying it. 😀

Next, I had gyoza. The skin was thin and the meat was succulent, juicy with a good marinade. Ain’t dry at all!

 I also ordered the Crumbed Crab, wondering if they are the kind that I like. When they were finally served, I was so elated!

They were exactly the ones that I always have when I was a kid. 🙂 Even though they might not be real shreds of crab meat in there, the stuffing was delicious and with the cute crab claws sticking out. Dipping it into the sweet chilli sauce, it was so ‘orgasmic’. How nostalgic!

Of course, I will always order my long time favourite: Tamago Sushi. The sweet egg on top with the seaweed wrapped around it is just a classic!

Lastly, I also had a Prawn Tempura Hand Roll. It was another fantastic offering at hotaru. The prawn was coated with the appropriate amount of soft wheat flour and the tempura sauce drizzled on top matched it perfectly! NOM!

A rare find (I stumbled upon it as we were looking for dining options near our hotel) and juicy addition to the exciting Japanese dining scene in Sydney. I will definitely revisit and try the different varieties available on Hotaru’s menu.

Sushi Hotaru on Urbanspoon

4 thoughts on “This is the Little Light of my Hotaru…

  1. Greetings! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of
    volunteers and starting a new project in a community
    in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on.
    You have done a wonderful job!

  2. Hmm it appears like your website ate my first comment (it was super long)
    so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m
    thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any recommendations for newbie blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

  3. My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was totally right.
    This post truly made my day. You can not imagine simply how
    much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

