The Royal Treatment!

RESTAURANT SUMMARY

Laksa King

12 Pin Oak Cres, Flemington, Vic 3031

Phone: (03) 9372 6383

RATINGS

Ambience: 7.5/10

Food: 7/10

Service: 6/10

REVIEW

My colleague has been asking me to try out the laksa at Laksa King. I know LK is one of the more popular restaurants on Urbanspoon and has a pretty good ranking on the tally board. So, J and I decided to take a trip down to Newmarket and see it for ourselves.

When we arrived at the door, we had to wait a good 5 minutes before any waiter came to us. I know I have to wait to be seated but still you should acknowledge my arrival? We were initially given a seat that was right next to the counter where they thrash the leftovers. I did not feel comfortable about it so I asked for a change of seats.

J ordered a Lemon Bitter which was a generous serving!I wanted to try their Loh Bak as I had a good impression of what Malaysian restaurants in Melbourne can come up with based on my visit to Omah’s. LK’s Loh Bak had a thinner skin but the meat filling inside was saltier. Not only that, you could see the oil oozing out from beneath. T_T

J wanted to try their Chicken Satay as it was mentioned in the menu that they are CHAR-GRILLED! I expected them to be burnt a little like those from street hawkers in Malaysia and Singapore. I reckon they did not want to stink up their kitchen, thus grilling them lightly, rather than using charcoal.For Laksa, I ordered King Prawn laksa. I was surprised by the numerous number and the size of the prawns they gave. They were fresh and free of shells, even the tails! Very detailed and time consuming preparation process I reckon! However, I would love this dish even more if the noodles were thick vermicelli instead of the thin ones! I know different countries use different noddles for their Laksa but thick ones give a better texture and wouldn’t be soggy before you can finish your food.  Another suggestion will be the option of changing the vegetables in the laksa, instead of having eggplant which I ain’t a huge fan of.J ordered the Fish Head laksa which he thought is lovely and enjoyable!

 All in all, an awesome lunch but with the few letdowns mentioned earlier, LK will definitely be the king of kings!
Laksa King on Urbanspoon

4 thoughts on “The Royal Treatment!

  1. You should try Chillipadi Mamak Kopitiam, the new kid around the block. They serve authentic street hawker style dishes from the Malay, Chinese and Indian communities of Malaysia. They also made fresh roti in house and nasi kandar. Been there many times and they will challenge your taste bud comparing to LK or CL.

  2. Hi There, the original chef at laksa king no longer works at the laska king you visited. Instead the chef is 2 doors door down working at chef lagenda! the curry laksa there tastes exactly like the ones in the original store.

Leave a Reply

