Traditionalist at Kenzan

RESTAURANT SUMMARY2014-12-28 00.49.26
Kenzan

45 Collins Street

Melbourne Vic 3000

Phone: (03) 9654 8933

http://www.kenzan.com.au/

RATINGS

Ambience: 8/10

Food: 7.5/10

Service: 8/10

REVIEW

Loyal readers know that I love my Japanese food and to date, Shoya on Market Lane is the only restaurant in Melbourne that ticked all my boxes. It might be a bit pricey but it’s definitely a goodie. That’s right, just like finding Mr Right, all the boxes have to be checked to be added on my little “wall of fame”. 😀

So, Kenzan, it has been on my “to try” list since I moved down from Brisbane four years ago but just never get the chance/occasion to go there. K was established all the way back in 1981 (older than me!) and has a typical old-school Japanese restaurant layout with sushi bar, tatami private rooms and the standard dining area. Decided to get a table at the sushi bar, where I got to see the chef prepare my orders in front of me. Oh oh, waitresses were dressed up in kimono (so cute!) and were very friendly.

First up, we started with Gyu Sashimi: fresh and meat was tender, perfected with a squeeze of lemon and light soya sauce!2014-12-28 00.54.02

Personally, I love a good glass of sake to go with my sashimi and sushi. Dassai 50 Jyunmai Daiginjyo (Yamaguchi) is definitely my GO TO sake these days and not many restaurants in Melbourne stock this baby. 🙂 Not overly dry, just the perfect balance and goes well with all the dishes.

2014-12-28 00.50.54

Next, Tempura Moriawase: lightly battered prawns, fish and vegetables, crispy on the outside; moist on the inside. Slightly oily for my liking though.

2014-12-28 00.55.57

The star of the night ~ Sushi and Sashimi combination (medium): great assortment served in a “face basin”, ha! I reckon a baby could actually fit in it. Love the freshness and those HUGE ASS PRAWNS. However, I was slightly disappointed with the variety.2014-12-28 00.57.00

But, I managed to get the chef to make me some of these bad boys that were not in their standard menu. Tamago (my all time favourite since I was a kid!); salmon roe and scallop to finish the night.2014-12-28 00.59.53

Wait, of course, there’s always room for desserts. Got the homemade black sesame icecream.2014-12-28 01.00.48

Green tea crème brûlée. Loved the moment when I cracked open the caramelized sugar. Sometimes I feel like buying a blow torch just for this. Hihihihi.

2014-12-28 01.02.10

Overall, lovely night and yummy food. But I still have Shoya as my number 1 destination for Japanese food. 😛

Kenzan Japanese on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Traditionalist at Kenzan

  1. You should try Minamishima.. More of a special occasion place I guess because of the price. But definitely one of the best in town.. Same as Kenzan which is more traditional

Leave a Reply

